Come Freely to the God of Mercy

I have recently been studying the books of the Old Testament in great depth for one of my classes at ORU. While this seemed to be daunting at first, I have grown to really enjoy learning more about God through different depictions of His character.

One thing my professor repeatedly mentions in class is that it is incorrect to split God’s character into two separate entities. We are often quick to label stories as either supporting “the God of the Old Testament” or “the God of the New Testament.” But doesn’t the Word say that He is the same yesterday, today, and forever? Isn’t He therefore the same God in both instances?

I have been guilty in the past of assuming that God’s strict judgment in the Old Testament indicates that He can be overtly unloving or unkind. In these books, His wrath sometimes seems to be more prominent than anything else. Recently, however, my perspective has drastically changed.

Yes, God punishes those who are unfaithful to His covenant. He is a just God. But more and more I have begun to identify the thread of His beautiful mercy that rises from the ashes. His gentle grace and never-ending pursuit in spite of our failure. His bottomless love for His children, even when we turn away.

In Genesis, God does flood the entire earth in order to destroy the wickedness of mankind. But He also provides an avenue for Noah, a righteous man, to survive and flourish.
In Joshua, God does prevent hundreds of Israelites from entering the Promised Land because of their doubt and fear. But He also allows Joshua and Caleb, two faithful servants, to enter the land and establish a lineage of faith for future generations.
In Judges, God does allow the Israelites to be defeated and killed by their enemies in battle. But He also listens to their cries of repentance and turns His face back to them in their time of need.
In Kings, God does punish David for committing adultery and for murdering one of his faithful soldiers. But He also keeps His promise to establish David’s throne in Israel, and He forgives David every time his heart repents.

I could go on and on. There are countless more examples of God’s merciful reaction to His people’s disobedience and infidelity in the Old Testament. Every time the Israelites rebel, however, the Lord’s heart is grieved, and His wrath is continually followed by mercy.

He is a faithful God. And He is good, not only when we are surrounded by His waves of mercy, but also in the hard-pressed seasons of drought.

If there is something I’ve learned from all my studying, it is that we can’t assume God to be unfaithful simply because we are walking through a tough season. Sometimes He removes His hand and allows us to continue walking, and in the darkness we find ourselves stumbling. But this God who remains silent and unwavering is the same God who delights in showing mercy, and He is faithful to keep His promises.

So now I celebrate the fact that this God, who is altogether holy and perfect, chooses to embrace my failures and disobedience with inexplicably beautiful grace. And I celebrate that Jesus Christ stood in my place and received the wrath of God that I deserve. After all, this is God’s ultimate act of mercy. He is so good.

Trust Him, reader. Unlike us, He will not fail.

***

“‘My heart churns within me; My sympathy is stirred. I will not execute the fierceness of My anger; I will not again destroy Ephraim. For I am God, and not man, the Holy One in your midst; and I will not come with terror…’ says the Lord.” Hosea 11:8-9

“For he has not despised or scorned the suffering of the afflicted one; he has not hidden his face from him, but has listened to his cry for help.” Psalms 22:24


Leave a comment